My name is Charly and I am an 8 year old chocolate lab/Chesapeake bay retriever mix. I came all the way from Quebec where my owner surrendered me. I spent nearly 4 months in the shelter and am glad to finally be out and in a home environment.

I am still energetic at my age and my favorite things to do are to play fetch, go for walks and take car rides. I sit really well in the car and settle fairly quickly. On walks, I do really well with a harness and hardly pull at all. Walks that are 30+ minutes are best, and allow me to relax and settle in for the day or night at home.

I currently live with another dog and am learning my manners! I have energy to play, but I am quickly realizing when it’s time to call it quits. I’d love another home with an active dog, but it is not necessary. I also live with a 12 year old boy and 2 rabbits! I am curious about the rabbits… But they are pretty boring so I mostly ignore them. I’d do best in a home with kids 12+ since I am 90 lbs and still learning manners and to not jump up on people. I can get pretty excited meeting new people as well and need redirection sometimes to settle down. I am very food motivated though, so training has been a breeze. I’ll do anything for a treat and praise!

When I am at home, you can usually find me sleeping, exploring the backyard or enjoying a chew. I love chews and will need strong toys that will last! Although I am not a big fan of my crate, I am getting used to being in it during the day while my foster mom and dad are at work. At night, I settle in on the bed to sleep with the family and have freedom around the house. is available for adoption together through Grand River All Breed rescue.┬áThe adoption donation is $400. All of our dogs are spayed or neutered, microchipped, and vaccinated as part of their adoption. If you’d like to adopt, please fill out an application. You can also reach us by email at